No, seriously…

 

In my quest for enlightenment I often cross paths with people that are very different than me, and I love it. Fascinated by the human condition I thoroughly enjoy learning about others, their lives, their dreams.

But I’m not particularly in the mood to dive into the human psyche in that way tonight! So hold that post for another day and hold on because it’s gonna get icy.

There is a person…in the ‘Hollywood’ lime light that is apparently broke. Is it just me or what the actual f$&k is going on in that brain of his? Have you read the things people are posting to said Hollywoods gofundme page!?! I read it so I would be of understanding to his plight but alas, like Hollywoods recent music endevours…. I don’t get it. Perhaps it is his sense of fashion, his suck it attitude or his ever gleaming star that has allowed him to believe he is on a ‘Paul the Apostle’ level.

And then there’s the ‘Diva’ who released an album, then a song (or Vice versa) and then did a big fancy show and everyone flipped out…as she turned the horrors of the upper class feeding on the lower class and lives having value into a scene that did not need her attention, at least in such a way that provokes anger, and more disdain. In 24 hours she took her own credibility away for dollar signs. Kudos!

And once more for full effect (and because I’ve been dying to somehow put this on my blog) the turkey emotional support critter. Now, I love turkey. We see them at the local farms when we buy fresh fruits and veggies, and on my table for holiday meals. I can honestly say that I don’t see this going well. Would we be surprised if the bird flipped out on a plane? And I must be missing something because I was unaware they were meant to fly!!! And lastly, how mentally stable is a turkey anyway????

What do these two people and a brave, but out of place turkey (or human) have in common??? No one told them that their choices have greater impact when they think of others before themselves. That it’s not about the money, money, money. Their need to make a scene, to be seen. ( OK, maybe not the turkey, I’ll give you that.) There was no one there to say ‘hold that thought, that comment, that turkey’. When someone has enough power to make or break someone, or people that willingly allow themselves to be bullshitted we care less about the big picture and more about personal gain, likes and selfies, and the whole world goes to shit. Communal narcissism.

I would love to go on more, but I need to go find a snake to snuggle with.

10 thoughts on “No, seriously…

  1. Proof that I am so out of it: I actually tried to do research to figure out who Hollywood and Diva are, because I honestly had no idea. I think I figured out who Diva is, but the other remains a mystery to me. I tend not to pay attention to entertainment news, if for no other reason than 1) It never seems to be *new* what’s happening; and 2) I’m rarely entertained by it, which seems a bit ironic to me.

    I wish we cared less in America about our celebrities, and I wish less people wanted to be “famous” and “important” and instead more people wanted to be “loved” and “loving.”

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay, I may now know who you’re talking about. But as far as I stay away from celebrity gossip, I stay ten times further from anything remotely linked with Planet Kardashian. I rarely share the same universe as that family.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So you did a really great job of not including any names here but I am so with you about “Hollywood”. I seriously think there is something wrong with him. He puts out all of these completely contradictory statements and expects us to buy it…literally. Like, how are you against “the Man” and trying to make a way for other Black entrepreneurs and creatives while being a sale out? How are you going to tell us how “real” you are all the time while being in a relationship with one of the fakest women around? How do speak of your deceased mother like she’s a goddess but completely disrespect any woman (including your wife) within a 1 mile radius?
    As for “the Diva”, whether you agree or disagree with the message in her song/video, she doesn’t even seem to believe in what she’s saying. I literally just had an argument with someone the other day who continues to over-analyze that song/video and I continue to say that she clearly did it for financial gain. She (like everyone else) realizes the growing tensions in this country and decided to make a profit off of it. I mean her tour announcement was a strong indication of that. But hey, that’s just my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! I just think that their ‘brand’ is bs. I don’t know them per say, and I hope that their hearts are in the right place at some point. For them it’s the fans that make them, and behaving the way do makes their fans look bad too! I’ve never been into Hollywood…I just prefer a different style of music. Diva is amazingly talented, I love her music, but she’s become more of what I see that is wrong with this world.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We’re complete opposites! hahaha. See, I actually used to like Hollywood when he first came out. His first three albums have many gems on them. His fourth album was understandably a little chaotic as his mother had just passed. Since then he has been an absolute trainwreck. It’s quite unfortunate. On the other hand, I have never been a fan of Diva. However, I do believe she is talented. I just think she’s outgrown so much of what she does so now. I mean even her look is tired. It’s the same blond weave, the same sparkly leotards, and the girl-supported, hair-flipping, gyrating backup dancers. For the life of me I don’t understand why anyone would pay money to see the same exact thing. But hey, yet again–just my opinion. hahaha.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. HA! I have heard a few of his songs, my husband likes a few. But I agree with you on Diva. She takes away from her talent. She doesn’t need to be a spectacle. She’s amazing without the hair, gyrating, backup.

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.